

USDA Designates Six Georgia Counties as Contiguous Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Georgia | May 30, 2023

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, & Mississippi

Triggering Disaster: Freezing Temperatures

Application Deadline: January 25, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Alabama: Baldwin, Blount, Chilton, Clarke, Cullman, Elmore, Escambia, Etowah, Henry, Houston, Mobile, Montgomery, Morgan, Russell, Tallapoosa, and Washington

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Alabama: Autauga, Barbour, Bibb, Bullock, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Choctaw, Clay, Conecuh, Coosa, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Dallas, DeKalb, Geneva, Jefferson, Lawrence, Lee, Limestone, Lowndes, Macon, Madison, Marengo, Marshall, Monroe, Perry, Pike, Randolph, St. Clair, Shelby, Walker, Wilcox, Winston

Florida: Escambia, Jackson, Okaloosa, and Santa Rosa

Georgia: Chattahoochee, Clay, Early, Muscogee, Seminole, and Stewart

Mississippi: George, Greene, Jackson, and Wayne

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov