

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Five Oregon Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Oregon | April 27, 2022

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Oregon

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Dec. 19, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Crook Jefferson Wallowa

Deschutes Klamath

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Oregon:

Baker Harney Lane Umatilla Wasco

Douglas Jackson Linn Union Wheeler

Grant Lake Marion

California: Modoc and Siskiyou

Idaho: Adams, Idaho and Nez Perce

Washington: Asotin, Columbia and Garfield

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov