

USDA Designates Six Virginia Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas News Release | Tennessee | February 25, 2022

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Virginia

Triggering Disaster: Drought that occurred from May 1, 2021, through Oct. 15, 2021.

Application Deadline: Oct. 17, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Buckingham	Loudoun	Smyth
Fauquier	Prince William	Washington

Contiguous Areas Also Eligible:

Virginia:

Albemarle	Fluvanna	Stafford
Appomattox	Grayson	Tazewell
Bland	Nelson	Warren

Clarke	Prince Edward	Wythe
Culpeper	Rappahannock	Bristol
Cumberland	Russell	Manassas
Fairfax	Scott	Manassas Park

Maryland: Charles, Frederick, Montgomery and Washington Tennessee: Johnson and Sullivan West Virginia: Jefferson

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov