

USDA Designates 4 Michigan Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas News Release | Indiana | January 25, 2022

View PDF

Indiana Counties of Elkhart & LaGrange Eligible as Contiguous Counties

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Michigan

Triggering Disaster Event: Frost and freeze that occurred during April 2 through May 30, 2021.

Application Deadline: Sept. 19, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible: Antrim, Grand Traverse, Leelanau and St. Joseph

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Michigan:

Benzie	Crawford	Otsego
Branch	Kalamazoo	Van Buren
Calhoun	Kalkaska	Wexford
Cass	Manistee	

Charlevoix	Missaukee	
------------	-----------	--

Indiana:

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov