

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Seven South Dakota Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | July 30, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: South Dakota

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: March 16, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Haakon	Jackson	Lake	Moody
Hand	Jones	Mellette	

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

South Dakota:

Beadle	Jerauld	Oglala Lakota
Bennett	Kingsbury	Pennington
Brookings	Lyman	Spink
Buffalo	McCook	Stanley
Dewey	Meade	Todd
Faulk	Miner	Tripp
Hyde	Minnehaha	Ziebach

Minnesota: Lincoln, Pipestone and Rock

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov