

## Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

# USDA Designates Eight Montana Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Wyoming | July 20, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see <a href="http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/">http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/</a>), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Montana

**Triggering Disaster**: Drought

Application Deadline: March 14, 2022

### **Primary Counties Eligible:**

Carbon	Madison	Stillwater
Gallatin	Park	Sweet Grass

### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

Montana:

Beaverhead	Broadwater	Jefferson	Musselsh
Big Horn	Golden Valley	Meagher	Rosebud

Idaho: Fremont

Wyoming: Big Horn, Park and Teton

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

### Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

### **Contact:**

**FPAC Press Desk** 

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov