

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 19 Ohio Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | September 18, 2018

View PDF

Contact: FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

WASHINGTON, Sept. 18, 2019 — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 19 Ohio counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers who suffered losses due to two separate disaster events may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) <u>emergency</u> loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Excessive Rain and Flooding – Jan. 1 – Aug. 13, 2019

Producers in Athens, Delaware, Gallia, Hocking, Holmes, Jackson, Lawrence, Meigs, Mercer, Pike, Putnam, Richland, Scioto, Union, Vinton, Washington and Wayne counties who suffered losses due to excessive rain and flooding that occurred Jan. 1 through Aug. 13, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Ohio counties of Adams, Allen, Ashland, Auglaize, Champaign, Coshocton, Crawford, Darke, Defiance, Fairfield, Franklin, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Highland, Huron, Knox, Licking, Logan, Madison, Marion, Medina, Monroe, Morgan, Morrow, Noble, Paulding, Perry, Pickaway, Ross, Shelby, Stark, Summit, Tuscarawas, Van Wert, and Wood, along with Adams and Jay counties in Indiana; Boyd, Greenup, and Lewis counties in Kentucky; and Cabell, Jackson, Mason, Pleasants, Tyler, Wayne, and Wood counties in West Virginia, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Excessive Rain, Flash Flooding, Hail, Tornadoes – April 15 – July 31, 2019

Producers in Montgomery and Preble counties who suffered losses due to excessive rain, flash flooding, high winds, hail, lightning, and tornadoes that occurred April 15 through July 31, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Ohio counties of Butler, Clark, Darke, Greene, Miami, and Warren, along with Union and Wayne counties in Indiana, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is May 6, 2020.

The Secretary previously announced the following Ohio counties as designated primary natural disaster areas for other disaster related events: Allen, Athens, Auglaize, Brown, Butler, Clermont, Crawford, Defiance, Erie, Fairfield, Fayette, Fulton, Hamilton, Hancock, Henry, Hocking, Huron, Knox, Licking, Logan, Lucas, Marion, Morrow, Ottawa, Paulding, Sandusky, Seneca, Van Wert, Warren, Washington, Williams, Wood, and Wyandot.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock,

Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage

Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree

Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov