

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Henry County, Ohio, as a Primary Natural Disaster Area

News Release | Ohio | November 03, 2020

View PDF

WASHINGTON, Nov. 3, 2020 – Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated Henry County, Ohio, as a primary natural disaster area. Producers who suffered losses caused by drought and excessive heat that occurred from June 1 through Aug. 26, 2020, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) <u>emergency loans</u>.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous Ohio counties of Defiance, Fulton, Hancock, Lucas, Putnam, Williams and Wood are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is June 21, 2021.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock,

Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage
Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov