

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 13 Michigan Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | December 07, 2020

View PDF

Contact: FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border State Also Available

WASHINGTON, Dec. 7, 2020 — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 13 Michigan counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in who suffered losses caused by recent natural disasters may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

These natural disaster designations allow FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Freeze

Producers in Benzie, Manistee, Mason, Oceana and Wexford counties who suffered losses caused by a freeze that occurred May 6 through May 13, 2020, may be eligible for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Michigan counties of Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, Lake, Leelanau, Missaukee, Muskegon, Newaygo and Osceola are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Frost

Producers in Branch County who suffered losses caused by frost that occurred May 8 through May 9, 2020, may be eligible for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous counties listed below are also eligible to apply for emergency loans:

Michigan: Calhoun, Hillsdale, Kalamazoo and St. Joseph

Indiana: LaGrange and Steuben

Excessive Rain

Producers in Arenac, Iosco and Ogemaw counties who suffered losses caused by excessive rain that has occurred since May 18, 2020, may be eligible for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Michigan counties of Alcona, Bay, Crawford, Gladwin, Oscoda and Roscommon are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Drought

Producers in Benzie, Huron, Missaukee, Osceola and Wexford counties who suffered losses caused by a drought that occurred June 1 through Aug. 15, 2020, may be eligible for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Michigan counties of Clare, Crawford, Grand Traverse, Isabella, Kalkaska, Lake, Leelanau, Manistee, Mecosta, Newaygo, Roscommon, Sanilac and Tuscola are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Excessive Rain and Flooding

Producers in Huron County who suffered losses caused by excessive rain and flooding that occurred Aug. 16 through Sept. 9, 2020, may be eligible for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Michigan counties of Sanilac and Tuscola are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Excessive Rain and High Winds

Producers in Presque Isle County who suffered losses caused by excessive rain and high winds that occurred from July 18 through July 20, 2020, may be eligible for emergency loans.

Producers in the contiguous Michigan counties of Alpena, Cheboygan and Montmorency are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for emergency loans under this designation is Aug. 2, 2021.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock,

Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage

Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree

Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at farmers.gov/recover.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov