

## Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

## USDA Designates 14 North Carolina Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | North Carolina | January 23, 2020

View PDF

Contact: FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border State Also Available

**WASHINGTON, Jan. 23, 2020** — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 14 North Carolina counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Beaufort, Brunswick, Columbus, Cumberland, Dare, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Martin, Onslow, Robeson, Sampson, Tyrrell, and Washington counties who suffered losses caused by Hurricane Dorian that occurred from Sept. 6 through Sept. 10, 2019, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) <a href="mailto:emergency">emergency</a> loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous North Carolina counties of Bertie, Bladen, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Duplin, Edgecombe, Franklin, Halifax, Harnett, Hoke, Lenoir, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt, Scotland, Wake, Wayne, and Wilson, along with Dillon, Horry, and Marlboro counties in South Carolina, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Sept. 14, 2020.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: <a href="Emergency Assistance for Livestock">Emergency Assistance for Livestock</a>,

Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage

<u>Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree</u> Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at farmers.gov/recover.

## Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

## **Contact:**

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov