

## Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

# Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates Three Connecticut Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Due to Severe Storm

News Release | Connecticut | October 10, 2024

View PDF

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

**Impacted Area**: Connecticut

**Triggering Disaster**: Severe Storm, Flooding, Landslides, and Mudslides

Application Deadline: 05/20/2024

**Primary Counties Eligible**: Fairfield, Litchfield and New Haven

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

Connecticut: Hartford, Middlesex

**New York**: Westchester, Putnam, Dutchess **Massachusetts**: Hampden, Berkshire

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster

## **Farm Service Agency:**

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

### **Contact:**

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov