USDA Designates Seven New York Counties Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release

New York

Release Date August 19, 2024 View PDF

Contact: Lynnette Wright

315-477-6309

lynnette.wright@usda.gov

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: New York

<u>Triggering Disaster:</u> Tornado, Hurricane, High Winds, Flash Floods, Excessive Rain and Hail from 07/10/2024-07/16/2024

Application Deadline: 4/14/2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Cortland, Erie, Lewis, Ontario, Seneca, Tompkins, Wyoming

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

New York: Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Genesee, Herkimer, Jefferson, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, St. Lawrence, Schuyler, Steuben, Tioga, Wayne, Yates

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov