

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates 22 Texas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Due to Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Tornadoes, and Flooding

News Release | Texas | June 28, 2024

View PDF

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Texas

<u>Triggering Disaster 1:</u> Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Tornadoes, and Flooding beginning April 26, 2024, and continuing.

Application Deadline: January 17, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Harris, Liberty, Montgomery, Polk, San Jacinto, Trinity, and Walker

<u>Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:</u> Angelina, Brazoria, Chambers, Fort Bend, Galveston, Grimes, Hardin, Houston, Jefferson, Madison, Tyler, and Waller

<u>Triggering Disaster 2:</u> Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Tornadoes, and Flooding beginning April 26, 2024, and continuing.

Application Deadline: January 21, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Eastland, Hardin, Jasper, Jones, Lamar, and Waller

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Angelina	Austin	Brown	Callahan	Comanche
Delta	Erath	Fannin	Fisher	Fort Bend
Grimes	Harris	Haskell	Jefferson	Liberty
Montgomery	Newton	Nolan	Orange	Palo Pinto
Polk	Red River	Sabine	San Augustine	Shackelford
Stephens	Stonewall	Taylor	Tyler	Washington

Oklahoma: Bryan and Choctaw

<u>Triggering Disaster 3:</u> Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Tornadoes, and Flooding beginning April 26, 2024, and continuing.

Application Deadline: January 22, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Callahan and Guadalupe

<u>Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:</u> Aransas, Bexar, Caldwell, Comal, Gonzales, Hays, Jackson, Matagorda, Refugio, Victoria, and Wilson

<u>Triggering Disaster 4:</u> Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Tornadoes, and Flooding beginning April 26, 2024, and continuing.

Application Deadline: January 27, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Collin, Cooke, Denton, and Montague

<u>Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:</u> Clay, Dallas, Fannin, Grayson, Hunt, Jack, Rockwall, Tarrant, and Wise

Oklahoma: Bryan and Choctaw

<u>Triggering Disaster 5:</u> Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Tornadoes, and Flooding beginning April 26, 2024, and continuing.

Application Deadline: January 29, 2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Bell, Henderson, and Tyler

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Anderson	Angelina	Burnet	Cherokee	Coryell
Ellis	Falls	Freestone	Hardin	Jasper
Kaufman	Lampasas	McLennan	Milam	Navarro
Polk	Smith	Van Zandt	Williamson	

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations. To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit fema.gov/assistance.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov