

# Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

## **USDA Designates 12 Arizona Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas**

News Release | Colorado | April 22, 2024

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Arizona

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: November 25, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Apache, Cochise, Coconino, Gila, Graham, Greenlee, Maricopa, Navajo,

Pima, Pinal, Santa Cruz, and Yavapai

#### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

Arizona: La Paz, Mohave, and Yuma

Colorado: Montezuma

New Mexico: Catron, Cibola, Grant, Hidalgo, and McKinley

Utah: Kane and San Juan

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

# Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave.SW Washington, DC 20250

### **Contact:**

**FPAC Press Desk** 

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov